Hey there...New member...Need feedback

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Ice Penov, Jul 30, 2005.

1. Ice Penov

Ice Penov Bit Poster

Hi,

This is my first post here, hopefully not the last. I'm on the last year on my CS studies. I own SCJP and currently pursuing SCWCD(These are Sun Microsystems certs, just for clarification).

In the meanwhile, looking at the IT industry, I was getting interested in Microsoft's .NET technology. I think that .NET is well designed technology(although it is Sun-based :biggrin ). So, I decided to go with .NET in parallel with Sun's J2SE/J2EE.

I plan to become MCAD for .NET, and later on MCSD for .NET. However, I don't have any work experience--cause I'm still a CS student. What's your view about getting certified without having industry experience? Should I wait to gain work experience before becoming MCAD/MCSD?

I wanna pursue IT certs before I get my IT diploma, just to get a good starting-point job, from where I shall build my IT career. Am I mistaking?

Do I need a work experience to undergo these three exams?At Microsoft's site it says that you need 2 year of experience in the field. Is this a recommendation or a requirement. Will anyone at the day of the exam ask me for a paper for 2 years work experience?

I'm planning 70-315, 70-320, and 70-316. Is this OK? Any recommendations? Are the QUE Exam Cram books by Amit Kalani OK for studying for these exams?

Sorry for the tons of questions.It's is OK if you answer just a few of the above.Looking forward for your info.

Regards,
    Ice

Certifications: SCJP, SCWCD
    WIP: Security+
  2. Weemez

Weemez Kilobyte Poster

Hey Ice Penov, stick around, the guys and gals here are very helpful and always have sensible words to pass on. I'm not the right guy to answer your particular questions but i'm sure the others will be along in a bit to steer you in the right direction. :biggrin

Certifications: HNC Computing A+ N+ ICND1
    WIP: ICND2
  3. d-Faktor