Hey there, any tips on becoming a DBA...

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by johnt79, Jan 27, 2008.

1. johnt79

johnt79 New Member

Hi everyone,

First I want to say this is my first post but I've been a member and reader of CF since around Nov last year.. so far you have already convinced me NOT to spank ££££'s on an Advent course:twisted: and instead buy a Mike Meyers Comptia A+ book:biggrin and get stuck in, hopefully will sit the exams in the next week or two... so big thanks to everyone there!!

However I'm a little confused as to where to go now, I've kinda got my heart set on becoming a DBA mainly because over the past 6months at work I have been playing around with databases (a very old Sysbase) and writing stored procedures etc.
    Now I currently work in the travel industry in a non-IT role, following the general trend of people here I made some inquiries and may have the opportunity to move to the IS Department and start at the bottom as 1st line support BUT in doing this it will take me away from using DB's and require a pay-cut!

The pay-cut I can handle if I know for certain that going into a support role is really the best option for me, I'm not overly keen on support/help desk role either, as I have done similar within the travel sector (probably just a complex as IT but without anyone really knowing what they are doing!) but again I am more than happy to put it with it for however long as necessary.

So my question is, is going into 1st Line Support/Help Desk really the best way for working up to a DBA role??
    Also are there any other jobs that would be better suited, searching the job sites don't seem to offer much (seems like a junior DBA needs 3-4yrs experience) and I am finding it hard to see what I would need to do to go from 1st Line Support into systems anyway - no one seems to mention that part!