Hey Guys, got a new job !

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by mattwest, Dec 22, 2004.

1. mattwest

mattwest Megabyte Poster

Hey guys and girls.

Apologises for not being around much, i've been reading the posts just not replying! Been a hettic few months.

Well i went for a job at my local council. Got an interview, had a written paper, practical test, panel interview and i've got the job!

I've handed in my notice at my current job and it feels great! My last day is New Years Eve!!

I'm gonna be a 3rd line tech so i'm looking forward to the challenge. More £££ and training, something my current employers dont understand! :ohmy

Although i've got 5 years experience and held 2 good positions i think one of the more important things that got me this job is my attitude and communication skills. Also the ability to demonstrate a practical thought process.

So experience is a must and certs are handy, but dont forget to work on those communication skills. I did well on the theory, didnt complete the practical, but because i explained my processes they were impressed (the guy before me *trashed* the server!!) and i put myself across at the interview very well.

Even if you think all is lost, keep calm and make the most of a bad situation. Explain what you did and why. If mistakes were made, show you realised and what you would do to fix them.

Preparation is the key. There is a book called "Great answers to tough interview questions" which really helped me give some good textbook answers.

Anyway just though i'd shall some news and add my thoughts....

Merry Xmas all :D

Certifications: See my signature...
    WIP: Maybe re-certify my CCNA
  2. punkboy101
    Honorary Member

punkboy101 Back from the wilderness

:cheers :thumbleft

Well done mate, great news :!: Congrats, and make sure you let us ll know how it goes in the new year. :D

Good luck

Certifications: CCNA
    WIP: Nada
  3. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster