Hey folks

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by afcberty, May 5, 2007.

1. afcberty

afcberty New Member

Pleased to meet all your aquaintance.

I'm a senior engineer with a large IT services company and now looking to turn 7 years experience of working on everything from Dell servers to IBM servers to SUN servers.

Does anyone have any opinions on these 14 day MCSE courses?
    I have all but signed up for one and would like to know if these are worth the money.

I'm under no illusions obviously, I know it's going to be an extremely skullbusting 2 weeks.

Has anyone here managed to complete one successfuly and if so do you have any tips to help me see it through?

Thanks,
    Rab

2. Tyler D

Tyler D Gigabyte Poster

Hello :biggrin

MCSE in 14 days, thats a tough one. i would imagine that these boots camps are only good for someone with years of experience, of which you seem to have. Perhaps someone whom has achieved their MCSE will be along shortly to give you their opinion.

Best of luck.

Certifications: A+,70-270
    WIP: 70-290
  3. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

If you have a ton of experience, you probably don't need an expensive crash course to get you your certification. For someone who DOESN'T already have a ton of experience, an expensive crash course probably won't help them enough to get the certification... and even if they DO pass the exams, will they *truly* gain that level of understanding to be able to do the job of an MCSE? Most do not, from what I've seen. Most people end up forgetting the majority of what they learned right after they pass the exam.