Here's to no longer lurking

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Johnny Royale, Aug 29, 2013.

1. Johnny Royale

Johnny Royale Bit Poster

Hi,

I've been lurking around this forum for a little while now and finally decided to join as the information and advice I've seen given is great and I sure could do with more advice!

I'm in the process of changing careers, moving from marketing and design jobs (also I'm a calligrapher in my spare time). I'm interested in security and have been since I was about 10 when my primary school teacher told me about her husbands job as a penetration tester. I'm still undecided of the exact path for security I want to take, but have a strong interest in penetration testing, network security and mobile security. I'm currently studying for my A+, then moving onto N+ and after this the MCSA Server 2008. I want to give myself a good basis to get a feel for what direction I will move into and have a solid grounding.

I've set myself up with some virtual machines and virtual networks at home to just jump straight into so I can play around with/ break them. Also been learning Python through MIT OenCourseWares.

My plan is to start low in terms of jobs and pick up as much experience as possible and try to progress as much as I can.

In the future my plan is to look at some of the security focused training like the Security+, GIAC, Tiger Scheme & CISSP but those are a little way off currently.

I'm sure I'll have plenty of questions to post so look forward to speaking to you all more!

Thanks,

Johnny Royale

Certifications: A+
    WIP: N+, MCSA Server 2008
  2. reverb

reverb Byte Poster

Hello and welcome.

Definitely sounds like you have it all mapped out. A+ and N+ are good starting points and will give you a solid foundation to build on.

3. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member

Welcome to Certforums