Here Goes...

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Fantomas, Oct 15, 2009.

1. Fantomas

Fantomas New Member

Hi everyone

Well, my copy of the 70-271 Self Paced Training Kit landed with me today so here we go. Wow !! I knew it was going to big but that is a large book. So now I'm panicking about getting started with the studying. I am fretting that I'll not be able to retain all the information etc. I've made a start on reading the first few pages but I'm beating myself up a bit because I am struggling to know what to make notes of etc. I have got a couple of years of IT experience but havent done any studying in a long time.

Can anybody give me any advice on how to get started with this monster !!

Thanks for reading !

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 15, 2009
  2. colz1234

colz1234 Bit Poster

not really advice as such, just a few tips i spose

i have recently completed the 70-271 and 70-272 exams, and found that a lot of the book is made up of so called 'filler material', if that makes sense.

I have not got any real world experience, am waiting for my first job still, but i skipped a lot as i already knew a fair bit of it, and as you have got a couple of years experience, i expect that you will also know a fair amount too.

It doesn't look as bad as it seems. Just start going through it, and you will be at the end before you know it.

Certifications: COMPTIA A+, MCP, MCDST
    WIP: MCSA MCSE
  3. soundian

soundian Gigabyte Poster

If you look at the book you'll see quite a large part is taken up with the objective review questions, which are repeated on the CD.
    The 271 is easy to split into domains (there's a key at the front of the book) since most chapters only cover one domain. After going through the whole thing to get an overview of the material I concentrated on one domain at a time.