helpdesk job no experience

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Ddan, Dec 11, 2011.

1. Ddan

Ddan Nibble Poster

Hi guys I have a couple of questions I currently have a bsc degree and I am looking for a helpdesk support role but I do not have any help desk experience, but have a large amount of customer service experience. Does anyone have any tips they can give me to make my CV stand out. I would also like to ask if it’s worth undertaking certifications like a+, any feedback will be appreciated thanks guys.

2. frankcastle

frankcastle Bit Poster

Yes, you can look for taking A+ certification . Prepare a resume which completely fits Help desk job and prepare well for the interview questions. This will be an added advantage for you.
    best luck.

Certifications: MCSE
    WIP: CCNA
  3. Ddan

Ddan Nibble Poster

Thank you for your response is it worth creating a cover letter even though I have no experience? If so do you have any tips on key things I should mention?

4. Boffy

Boffy Megabyte Poster

Customer service is the same as helpdesk. You're expected to support a customer/client/staff either face-to-face, phone, email or remotely.

Having any experience dealing with people in a business/retail sector will help you regardless of the title. Providing you know how to help them of course. 8)

A+ is a great way to start a career in IT, it will provide you all the fundamental knowledge which will continue for the following years. Technology is always changing but the basics are still very much the same.

Certifications: BSc Computer Game Technology, A+
    WIP: MOS 2010
  5. kevicho

kevicho Gigabyte Poster

+1 for the A+.

On your CV I would emphasise your customer service skills as well as your methodical approach to resolving peoples issues and escalation, then its just a case of applying for every relevant job you can find.

Certifications: A+, Net+, MCSA Server 2003, 2008, Windows XP & 7 , ITIL V3 Foundation
    WIP: CCNA Renewal
  6. jvanassen