Help with MCSA

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Darwoody, Dec 16, 2008.

1. Darwoody

Darwoody New Member

Hi everyone.
    I have a bit of a dilemma on my hands.
    Let me start by giving you the full scenario.

I have been interested in trying to get qualifications that could get me a job in the I.T. Indusrty.(Dont worry, this isn't your average noob post).
    So a couple of months back I purchased a package from ICS online that offered me everything I needed to get qualified in MCSA. At least, that is what I thought.
    The whole package cost about 500 pounds, which I thought was a bargain, considering the price of some courses offered.
    Included in the package was: four CD Rom's and five books covering the 70/270, 70/271, 70/272, 70/290 and 70/291 exams.
    At this point I should tell you that I have no previous experience in a working environment with Windows, but I have a basic knowledge of computers from home use.
    The course came with very little other material, and absolutely no support from ICS, save for a website with a "Community" which nobody visits.
    Anyway I had all the motivation needed, and decided I could plow through it all in no time. This is where I made my first mistake.
    Considering only the numbers I concluded that the first place to start would be with the 70/270 course material. (I realise now that this was a mistake, but like I pointed out, I have no experience:oops:)
    So I dove in to the material and started learning. It did occur to me that it was probably a little out of my reach, but I assumed that it was just tough.
    I mainly used the Cd Rom for learning as I found it more enjoyable than reading the book. After a couple of months I felt I had made enough progress to book the exam(which was today). I was scoring high enough on the practice exams on the CD to feel pretty confident about it.