HELP Where to start?? SysAdmin with no certs

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by beige, Apr 19, 2010.

1. beige

beige New Member

Ok...reading around on this forum and bloody scared me! You are all seriously certified!

Ok, here is the thing.

I have been working as Sys Admin for a company of 200 users, alongside the IT Manager. (exchange cluster, SANs, hp procurve, esx) I have been doing this for 3 years now. My previous jobs were 1st/2nd line IT support for clients.

In all that time I haven't got any certificates!! (I do have a degree in IT)
    Now I am looking for a new job and I feel like my experience is worth nothing without the certificates.

I don't know where to start....I think I have enough experience to try something more advanced, like MCSE but this is something I need to pay for myself as my company are not going to pay.

any ideas?

2. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

I think the first thing you need to decide is on which area you want to get certified, is it Exchange, ESX, Windows Servers or Networking? Once you can answer that then we can offer you better choices.

Off the top of my head I would probably aim for something like the MCSE, MCITP (Exchange or SA\EA) or VCP but again it depends on what you want to get out of it and what kind of work you are looking for.

The thing to remember is that certification is there to prove your experience rather than getting you a job.

Certifications: CNA | CNE | CCNA | MCP | MCP+I | MCSE NT4 | MCSA 2003 | Security+ | MCSA:S 2003 | MCSE:S 2003 | MCTS:SCCM 2007 | MCTS:Win 7 | MCITP:EDA7 | MCITP:SA | MCITP:EA | MCTS:Hyper-V | VCP 4 | ITIL v3 Foundation | VCP 5 DCV | VCP 5 Cloud | VCP6 NV | VCP6 DCV | VCAP 5.5 DCA
  3. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Your experience is worth EVERYTHING, even without the certificates (called "certifications").