Help - some advice needed

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Million, Sep 1, 2008.

1. Million

Million New Member

Hi, im new to the forum, and ive read quite a bit, i was wondering if any 1 out there could give me a little advice.
    I have a degree in computer science from back in 2000.

i never really entered the IT sector as at the time i was running a business, so when i graduated i more or less just carried on with with my business, and besides in the rural area i was living at the time, there was no IT work, i more or less just did the degree for academic reasons.

Now im 36 and fancey getting a job in IT after years of doing other stuff.

I would like to go down the route of either networking or network security and was wondering what Cert would be good for me to start with. saying this, any IT role would be good to start with.

I am fimilair with networks, servers, databases, firewalls ect, and can also to a certain extent understand code, altho i havnt written any since my days at uni.

I would be very happy to teach myself for these exams at home.

so if any 1 has any advice please let me know

thanks in advance
    m

2. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

Hi there and welcome :D

Your best route would be to start with the CompTIA Certificates A+ then the N+

Here is a link to their website:

http://certification.comptia.org/

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome

Yes start with the A+ and N+ then MCDST as your first certs and don't go any further untill you have appropriate experience.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  4. Million

Million New Member

Excellent, and thanks for the advice, my next question is this.

Im assuming that i buy the Test directly from comptia?

Are there any 1 else who sells these test, or are comptia the cheapest method?