Hello

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by patrickmoody84, Jan 29, 2006.

1. patrickmoody84

patrickmoody84 New Member

I read some posts on this forum a few months ago when I was considering enrolling on a course with NITLC to study (and pass, I hoped) A+, Network+, CCNA and MCSE. I decided not to spend such a huge amount of money on something so intangible as an online course. I'm presently working for Avis car rentals as a delivery driver. Avis pays me minimum wage so there's no way I can afford to spend nearly £4000 :ohmy on a course where there's no guarantees of success. I bought the Michael Meyers A+ Certification Exam Guide book in November and have been working through it since then. I hope to be ready for the A+ exams by mid-march. I hope someone here might be able to give me some advice on the best way to progress from here. I'm desperate to get out of Avis, out of minimum wage :x and into something more relevant to what I'm studying. I need a job in a computer department 8) . Any advice appreciated.
    Thanks
    Patrick

WIP: A+
  2. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

Hi there and welcome to CF. :)

I don't know which path to take, I'm sure someone will be along shortly to help you. :)

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  3. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Greetings, Patrick. Welcome to CertForums. :)

First off, do you have any experience at all in repairing and maintaining computers. You'll need to start building your CV so you can get a foot in the door of an IT department somewhere and at least get an interview.

One way I built my CV when first getting started is to post it on various web-based IT job sites. Contractors looking for a tech in my part of the country would call or email and offer me temp work. Jobs would last anywhere from a few hours to several weeks. I did these sorts of jobs while going to school full-time and working at my slave job full-time.