Hello

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by whalley_range, Oct 8, 2006.

1. whalley_range

whalley_range New Member

Been visiting this forum for a while, but never introduced myself.

I graduated last year with a degree in Web and Multimedia, but realised towards the end of my degree that I was never going to get a job in the web design field, as I wasn't creative enough, nor did I have the programming skills needed. Did pretty well in my degree though (surprised myself) and quite enjoyed doing my dissertation on Search Engine Optimization.

I did apply for a few web design jobs when I graduated, they lead to nowhere. Didn't want to end up doing data entry/call centre work (which was where I was heading). So I applied to two adverts on a graduate website, advertising for IT Technicians. I didn't know they were training providers at the time (just thought I was applying for jobs) and knew nothing about that type of business, nor the cost. I went on two interviews with two training providers, Just IT, being the first and then JBC Computers. I was impressed with Just IT at the time, as they explained about the the different types of IT support jobs and certs. Without going into the ins and outs of it, I realise I would have made a mistake going with them and glad I never.

Decided to go on a similar course with JBC Computers, two things made my mind up to go with them instead of Just IT. They were, they were interested in teaching people how to do stuff and how stuff works in a working environment, rather than just how to pass exams. I'm tight fisted with money, so it being sponsered, greatly appealed to me. Although it being in Coventry, was a massive downside. A smiley face is probably needed here to show that i'm joking, but I can't stand them.

Enjoyed my course with them, although it was very intense and some of the stuff they taught us I can't remember, as I haven't used it for several months.