Hello there!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Daft Lass, Nov 19, 2006.

1. Daft Lass

Daft Lass Bit Poster

Just a quick email to say hello. This is my first ever visit to CF and it looks really helpful as i'm new in IT and on the verge of making the decision of my life and a whole new career change.

First question: Which training company - Advent Training or Computeach?

Certifications: None
    WIP: MCSA
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Welcome to CF! :biggrin

To answer you question, personally, neither!

Ultimately it is your call though. See what others have to say. 8)

3. Daft Lass

Daft Lass Bit Poster

Ok why wouldn't you go for either?

What would you suggest?

All opinions please!:biggrin

4. C_Eagle

C_Eagle Byte Poster

Hello!

I studied from a book (Sybex or Microsoft press) so I can't say from personal experience but a few people I have met in IT say they have used CT and they had similar software and tasks to cmplete that are in the normal books.

The only difference I could see was the price tag. If you can manage your time to study and keep it up use a book I'm sure in the long run it will be far, far cheaper.

Good luck

Certifications: A+, MCP, MCDST, 70-270
    WIP: MCSA 70-290
  5. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

Greetings & welcome to CF

Both training companies are over priced, compared to some of the others out there.

I have dealings with both of these companies, it was not good. CF is not here to put training companies down or point out their bad points. Although it doesn't stop others from doing this:dry

CF is here to point you in the right direction, it's up to you to decide if you want to go in that direction.8)

Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia N+
  6. Daft Lass

Daft Lass Bit Poster

However I am not strict enough with my studying to just learn from books - I need someone to guide me.