Hello guys!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by lamnt, Aug 14, 2014.

1. lamnt

lamnt New Member

Hello guys. I'm went to university when I wasn't serious or had any idea in what I wanted to do. I did an economics degree because my parents told me to do it even though I had no interest in it. Unfortunately I failed really badly and that experience has really burnt me. The worst part of it was that it's all theory. I'm a hands on kind of guy and that course was never right for me. I vow to never again do anything I have no interest in. I took a year out and I spent it living with relatives abroad to "find myself".

I'm back in the UK and I know what type of career I want. I want to get into IT. I mean specifically I want to be the guy who installs and maintains of the hardware. Very often at Uni the equipment would have a problem and I used to observe technicians coming in to fix them.

I've been looking through the forum so far and most people are saying to self study. The most common route seems to be to do the A+, get into the HelpDesk while getting other certificates. So I guess my plan of action would be to get any job at first to pay bills and my studying, self study for the A+, find volunteer positions in IT and then get into helpdesk to get experience. while adding on more certificates.