Hello folks.

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Chaz73, Apr 14, 2009.

1. Chaz73

Chaz73 New Member

Hi, I've been working in IT for over 10 years now.

The first few years I spent working for a small local company doing field support work for a very broad range of business clients. Duties included specing, building and onsite installation of systems, as well as installing the odd bit of structured cabling here and there, and of course providing telephone and onsite support to the clients. The job could get very stressful a times, especially if one of your sales guys had landed you in it and sold the client some thing completely inappropiate that won't work with their current gear. There's nothing like being on the sharp end of the stick to bring out a sweat. Lesson learnt there is always ring the client up yourself before you go, and make your own investigations into what their needs and requirments might be. Overall though I quite enjoyed going out on my own to new clients and that buzz of never knowing quite what to expect.

After that and for the last 7 years I've been working for a large corporate company in the newspaper publishing sector doing 1st/2nd line support. Duties there included everything from moving furniture, right up to the basic administration of the various servers, network etc. Essentially it seemed like the attitude was that "if it has a plug on the end of it, then it must be something to do with IT". Although that still didn't stop people from ringing to tell us the toilets were blocked or that the water cooler was empty etc etc....