hello folks

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Ben Diller, Mar 24, 2008.

1. Ben Diller

Ben Diller New Member

Hey everyone, my name's Ben. I poked around here for a while before I decided to join; found a lot of great discussion and useful info. So in that regard cheers to you!

What brings me here is this: I took some very thorough CCNA classes through a free technical division of the public school system over here in the US, right at the end of my high school. I did real well and strongly enjoyed it, but never actually tested for my cert and became distracted with some...other...things directly after school.

At any rate, I've had my fun and when the dust settled, I realized I was still drawn to that material and line of employment. I've got some IT experience now, and I would like to re-learn all this. I'm not at all interested in a boot camp-style course, and I also don't know that I'd like to go through a full year+ of school for information I'll probably re-absorb quickly.

To get to the point (finally), I am seriously considering self-study. I got a lot of information (mostly from here) about what would comprise a solid home lab for the most accurate practice environment. I've also decided tentatively on the first book I'll study; I'm leaning towards the CCNA Preparation Library, 7th Edition, from Cisco Press.

What I am most interested in now, and have not been able to find easily, is where I can find a really complete and high-quality collection of lab scenarios. To clarify, I'm hoping to find lab setups on paper/pdf that have scripted scenarios that I would then need to physically set-up and configure. If I absolutely have to come up with my own scenarios and fictional set-ups, I will...but something tells me this stuff is out there already somewhere.