Hello Fellow IT People!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by IT_Guy, Sep 9, 2008.

1. IT_Guy

IT_Guy New Member

Hello to all :biggrin

I came across CF via google search as I was doing some general search on IT - Very glad I came across this as it has some excellent information, tips and advice from a range of people in the IT Industry!

A bit about me:

The road to IT started with me taking GNVQ ICT Advanced (AVCE) for my a-level and achieving a B and C grade. I then went on to University and studied Business Information Technology (BIT) and graduted this year. I will be taking the JBC Course starting next month to get that all important knowledge and experience to get me into a decent job. I have no IT experience just qualifications and few skills picked up here and there so that is why I went for the course at JBC. I preferably would like to start off in Technical Support -Maybe helpdesk support/entry level - 1st line support and work my way up!?
    I have been reading about all these certs which are recognised in the IT Industry - Can anyone advise me what step to take after the course/in near future?

Any EX-JBC people or anyone been in my situation before? :rolleyes:

All advice, tips welcome!!

Thanking you all in advance!

Certifications: BA (Hons) Degree & C&G Diploma Level 2&3
    WIP: Maybe A+, N+
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

HI Welcome :)

You could look at entry level certs designed for people looking for their first jobs in helpdesk roles. MOst people do compTIA A+, N+ and the MCDST. Certs after these are for people with relevant experience in related job fields. As for a course you don't need to do a course you can self study that means getting the books required practicing the concepts and then taking the exams.