Hello all

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Strasner, Jun 14, 2009.

1. Strasner

Strasner New Member

Hi, new to the forum and the world of IT beyond my own desktop computer.

Just finished a 3 year degree in Digital Screen Arts, but have no desire to go into the film or TV industry as i know noone in there to get a job and i dont fancy working my ass off for free...

So i applied to the FDM academy, just passed the initial interview and have a 4-day extended interview where i have to learn UNIX (something i have never used before) and have exams and a test in it, no idea wether ill pass that or not. But ive also applied and got into Advent Computer Training doing a course in Advanced Database Management, even though it costs £5950.

I came here for some advice really, to seek out info on how to get into it all, and what moves i should make.

Dave

Certifications: None at all
    WIP: Starting A+
  2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Don't design agencies and the computer games compaines etc also require designers and content creators ?

I really wouldn't advise spending £6k on a TP to become a DBA. You are far better off trying to land a entry level position and working your way up.

Best of luck ! :D

3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi & welcome to CF :)

To be honest I would strongly make sure that you're going down the right track, first of all. Let's face it that's alot of money you're going to part with.

The only DB track I found on your second option is this one.

Now considering that Microsoft says:

And for the 2008 route:

For exam 70-432: Candidates should have one to two years of experience using SQL Server 2008 or two to three years of experience using a previous version of SQL Server.

For exam 70-450: This exam is targeted at the professional level SQL Server 2008 Database Administrator.

Or the 2005 route: