Has anyone used ICS Home Learning? Any advise on starting in IT?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Hulk, May 2, 2006.

1. Hulk

Hulk New Member

I am looking into getting an IT certificate using a home learning company in UK. I have looked at Computeach and NITLC but both are very expensive. (£4000 - £5000) for an MSCE.
    After seeing an advert on tv, i went to the ICS website. They are doing an MCSE for about £1200!! This is more affordable, but i am very scared about putting my money into a company i know nothing about. I have a young child and my wife does not work so i want to get on the IT ladder as cheap as possible. I am a Printer by trade but my passion is PCs. I have built PCs and have been solving computer problems for myself and friends for a few years now. I would like to take the plunge and get a qualification to get into the IT industry. I was thinking about doing the A+ and N+ to start with, then going for an MSCE. Would this be a good idea?
    Anyway, sorry for the mish mash of subjects, but if anyone can let me know if they know anything about ICS or pointing me in the right direction would be grateful.
    Thanks.

2. AJ

AJ 01000001 01100100 01101101 01101001 01101110 Administrator

Hulk, have you had a look see around our Training and Development forum, I know ICS have been mentioned there.

Have you thought about self study esp for A+

Certifications: MCSE, MCSA (messaging), ITIL Foundation v3
    WIP: Breathing in and out, but not out and in, that's just wrong
  3. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

Like AJ said but why only A+? im doing MCSA (MCSE can too) - and im going self-study.. im on my 3rd exam and its cost me to date 90 for the books (thats for all 4 exams) and 40 for exam exam.. self-study will save you alot of money. 8)

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  4. mattwest

mattwest Megabyte Poster