Greetings

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by john1328, Mar 22, 2011.

1. john1328

john1328 New Member

Hello all i am currently studying Cisco CCNA. I am from the UK and currently drive buses for a living and am fed up of being in a job that has no future.

10 years ago i used to repair, maintain and upgrade pc's for a living but gave it up, since then i have had numerous jobs then wound up driving buses and have been doing so now for 6 years.

I have never really been away from pc's as i have always repaired and built pcs and laptops as a sideline, working with computers has always been my number 1 choice of job but trying to get re-employed has proven very difficult without the paperwork even given my experience.

I have done web design but thought better of it then discovered home learning Cisco CCNA with a company called CBT Nuggets. Networking has always been a grey area for me as this is 1 area of computing that i have NEVER had any knowledge on, yet an area i have always wanted to persue.

I have a friend who has MCSA and MCSE but i really wanted to take cisco so i did, using cbt nuggets. I have started by working on my CCENT and am making good progress and am really enjoying it 2.

As many of you have probably also had to do i am juggling this course with a full time job and a family which is hard but i'm sure this is what i want to be doing so am remaining dedicated to do this and have done about 30 hours so far and i seem to be grasping it pretty well. However i would like to ask advice of people who are already doing this kind of stuff.

1. Which exam route to take?

2. Advantages of Cisco to the Microsoft route (although i have already settled on Cisco, would be interested to know).

3. Should i also be looking at doing Comptia A+ or Network+ or both?