Getting started in comptia a+

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Claypole1977, Jun 24, 2008.

1. Claypole1977

Claypole1977 New Member

Hi, Ive been using a computer at home to surf the internet, print pictures and produce music for years and now Im looking to start a career in PC matienence and troubleshooting.
    Ive been advised to do a Comptia a+ course and so have looked at various colleges to try and find a course to do. The thing is Ive sort of hit a brick wall as most courses assume that you know a great deal about building PC's and also I.T solutions already and so far this has worried me.
    Although Im not a total novice in using the a PC, I am a total novice when it comes to building them and so I bought a book "the idiots guide to comptia a+ certification" and have been flicking through this to try and learn alittle of the background behind the course.
    Again this book also assumes you have prior knowledge of the course, so I guess what im trying to say is how do I start from the VERY beginning so that I can learn the basics before I pay out to do a college course?.
    Any advice would be much appreciated.

2. kevicho

kevicho Gigabyte Poster

Have you ever built a pc before?

It may be worth buying a few parts to get some experience in setting up pcs.

List of parts you will need include:
    Motherboard
    Processor (with fan + thermal paste)
    memory
    harddrive
    Cd or dvrom/writer/rewriter (take your pick)
    Video Card
    Case (with PSU)
    Monitor
    keyboard and mouse (if you dont already have one)

and go from there.

Depending on budget:

What i would suggest the first time if you are looking for something cheapish, is ebay, i would buy, at the bare minimum, a motherboard (something such as a gigabyte or asus board) which needs an AMD processor, and also takes a PCI express graphics card.