FDM training and Jobs

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by han.net, Jan 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. han.net

han.net Nibble Poster

Hello there,

I have been contacted by a training provider and recruitment agency called FDM academy recently . As some of you might have known them previously, they offer FREE training with a job contract tiing you up with them for 2 years . I have been invited for in interview with them in a week time and would like to have an idea about some points before hand, if somebody has tried them before and know bit of what im curious to know.

1-They needed to us to provide them with some coding ( " You will be expected to bring along to the seminar coding which complies with the coding standards outlined in the link below. Suggested technologies include (but are not limited to): Java, C#, UNIX, C++, C, Visual Basic etc.")

Im not sure what does that mean ( coding ) and also I have no knowledge what so ever about Java and programing . I come from a PC and Networking backround ( Cisco) . I will email them to ask for info , but meanwhile can anybody assist with that ?

Also , has anybody gone to their seminar and offered the interview , what technical area are likely to be discussed ? Im just bit concern about my knowledge in Programming. Can anybody help with that ?

Many thanks

2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

If you don't know anything about programming I guess you are not their target audience. However UNIX is an OS, they should have said UNIX Shell Scripting, so they don't know what they are talking about either.

If you wanted to start learning try this :- http://tinyurl.com/4cnq2o5

3. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

Don't go then.

I certainly wouldn't turn up for an interview knowing that it was for something that I knew nothing about.