FC6 - Kernel Source

Discussion in 'Linux / Unix Discussion' started by Chris-H, Dec 19, 2006.

1. Chris-H

Chris-H Bit Poster

I started learning linux a few months ago with Slackware 10.2 (2.4 kernel, XFCE desktop).
    I decided to change to FC6 because:
    1. It offers the Gnome desktop which I seem to need for some multimedia apps and seems too big a job for me to download and install myself (I don't like or use KDE so I was using XFCE)
    2. It appears to be the preferred distro if I choose to pursue certs for Linux.

I downloaded and installed CD's 1-3 of FC6 - no problem.
    I need to compile my wireless driver (rt2500) which requires the kernel source. This is where I get stuck as I simply can't find it anywhere on my installation.

Any ideas? or should I go back to Slack?

2. fortch

fortch Kilobyte Poster

I don't have an answer to your wireless question, but if I were you, I'd stick to CentOS -- it's essentially Red Hat Enterprise Linux without the badging. I've heard good things about Slackware (not for the faint of heart), but I always thought it was about as far from Fedora as possible. Not that Fedora is bad -- on the contrary, I have it running right now -- but tinkering with the latest and greatest can either elevate your knowledge, or keep you running in circles.

When I installed FC6, the 'Extras' repository selection had a bug that caused a BSOD (in GUI and CL), and I almost pulled the disc out to see if M$ was on it :biggrin However, I find that the 'desktop' distros are so nice that you stay away from CL -- something you cannot do in learning linux. Sure, the GUI tools are getting better, but sometimes they either don't do what they say they do, or they botch a config file.

In a related note, I find that when googling for CL instructions, I find way too many GUI tools in their place. Great for a putty/vnc remote session, but not on a straight ssh.

Certifications: A+,Net+,Sec+,MCSA:Sec,MCSE:Sec,mASE
  3. ffreeloader