Distance Learning - Computeach Vs. Advent

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Macevelli, Mar 5, 2009.

1. Macevelli

Macevelli New Member

Hi All,

I am looking to start a career in IT. I currently work in retail but it isn't what I want to do at all as I have always wanted to work with computers, so I have looked into home learning, distance learning etc with companies which help you get qualifications and a job also. I did a City & Guilds in Web Design at a local college 5 yars ago and found that the lack experience was what stopped me getting into IT, so I have decided to look towards joining one of these companies to help me get what I need to enter IT as a career. I have contacted many, but the two Im most impressed with are Advent or Computeach, both have had people visit me at home and assess me, and both want to take me on.

After reading in forums, I am getting mixed views from forum users about both of these. Personally, for me to commit to a course ( I will be doing Networking - CompTIA A+, MSCE/MSCE etc ) at the cost that it is especially within todays 'recession', its a BIG risk so I want to make sure that I make the right choice from the very beginning.

Can anyone help me choose, or is it blatently obvious to people who know the industry which one to go with?

Any help would be most benefitial to me,

Thanks

Certifications: C&G Diploma in ICT Systems Support
  2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Post approved and bumped to the top.

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  3. Gingerdave

Gingerdave Megabyte Poster

Welcome to the forums, Distance learning and course by both of these companies have been widely discussed on the forum and with the aid of the search function all shall be revealed....:D

However to address your question directly both a reptuable, and when faced with a similar choice I went with Advent -they seemed to offer a better mix.