Debt Collectors

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by Fergal1982, Dec 22, 2004.

1. Fergal1982

Fergal1982 Petabyte Poster

I received a letter in the mail today for an outstanding debt of 17.98 on behalf of an ISP. i used this ISP well over a year ago, and once i moved into this new flat, i changed my details with the ISP, i later discovered that the freephone number for which i was paying a subscription didnt work at this address (i found this out after a month or so)

so i wrote them a letter of termination with immediate effectiveness. telling them i would not pay the months notice for a service i was lied to about.

i heard nothing about it until today. not even a letter of confirmation.

Any ideas where i stand with this?

Fergal

Certifications: ITIL Foundation; MCTS: Visual Studio Team Foundation Server 2010, Administration
    WIP: None at present
  2. ScoobyDoo

ScoobyDoo Byte Poster

Hi Fergal,

>> I am not a lawyer but I do work with debt control people.

"I later discovered that the freephone number for which i was paying a subscription didnt work at this address (i found this out after a month or so)

so i wrote them a letter of termination with immediate effectiveness. telling them i would not pay the months notice for a service i was lied to about.

i heard nothing about it until today. not even a letter of confirmation."

>> Put this in writing to them - enclose a copy of the original letter if possible.

>> Given the small amount of the debt, they will probably write it off there & then. I assume they have now terminated your service. Don't worry, no legal action will be taken - the debt is way too small. They will send you a reminder & possibly a final demand; but will then write the debt off anyway.

Certifications: <<See Below>>
  3. punkboy101
    Honorary Member

punkboy101 Back from the wilderness