CVs & Logos

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Gogs, Aug 19, 2010.

1. Gogs

Gogs Bit Poster

Hi folks,

I was wondering what peoples views were on having Cert logos on CVs?

As an IT manager I was quite content to see logos on CVs but one of my peers hated it and used to discard CVs straight away as being "too show off". Now as an IT trainer I have students who leave with 2 or 3 Microsoft and Comptia certifications and they ask for advice on what logos to put on their CVs. Particularly with the Microsoft qualifications, some want to put the logo up for MCP and, for example, MCDST. My view being there that if you only have 271 & 272 then just put up MCDST, but if you have another one that doesn't give you another "title" then add the MCP also.

Off course the problem being you end up having more logos than text after a while.

Cheers

Gogs

Certifications: in Signature
    WIP: MCITP: Server Administrator (646) , Security+
  2. craigie

craigie Terabyte Poster

I'm not a big fan of logos on CV's.

For some off us on here, if we did that, we would actually need an A4 page just for the logos :D

Certifications: CCA | CCENT | CCNA | CCNA:S | HP APC | HP ASE | ITILv3 | MCP | MCDST | MCITP: EA | MCTS:Vista | MCTS:Exch '07 | MCSA 2003 | MCSA:M 2003 | MCSA 2008 | MCSE | VCP5-DT | VCP4-DCV | VCP5-DCV | VCAP5-DCA | VCAP5-DCD | VMTSP | VTSP 4 | VTSP 5
  3. BC

BC Bit Poster

The manager who gave me my first break in IT didn't like them.

I remember him going through a pile of CVs and then calling me over saying "bit of advice for you, don't put logos on your CV like this...", showing me a particularly messy CV with logos all over it. Any CV with a logo on was tossed.

If someone can hate them that much I figured that it wasn't a good idea to put them on a CV.

As you pointed out, one of your colleagues hated logos too and wouldn't consider a candidate who put them on his CV. Therefore, I wouldn't take the chance.