Considering planning to do my A+ 2009 exams

Discussion in 'A+' started by Geege, Jun 16, 2009.

1. Geege

Geege New Member

Hi all,

I'm new to I.T. and keen to get CompTIA A+ certified, for my own satisfaction and enjoyment. My home life is quite busy, being the father of 3 boys all aged under 4 years and working full time.

I have considered doing a training course such as Pitman training / Advent training etc.. although without even asking them how much it will cost, I can guess it will be quite expensive - so I figured I fancy the idea of self-study as well.

I have already brought the Jean Andrews CompTIA A+ 2006 In Depth text book and have read most of it. I am considering planning to study for the 2009 exams however and perhaps buying a new book (maybe Michael Meyers 7th edition ?? when it is released). I know the 2006 exams will not retire until July 2010 but I thought it would make sense now to work towards the more up to date 2009 exams.

What do you think? Any suggestions on how I should proceed?

Certifications: none so far
    WIP: CompTIA A+
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

you can take either version of the exam althoug it does not matter wether you have the current version of the exam the new one or the one from five years ago. Once you are certfied for these exams it is for life. No employer will care if you have the newer or older exams.

You definetly need a Meyers book for the A+ as he is the leading authority on it and old pc to mess about with and I would recommend PC Technician street smarts by James Pyles.

I never used or seen Jean Andrews book

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster