Computeach or Self Study??

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Lank1984, Aug 20, 2005.

1. Lank1984

Lank1984 New Member

Hi all,

I have just recieved an information leaflet in the post on Computeach (which I requested, it wasnt junk mail!!)

Although you have to take all advertising tosh with a pinch of salt, these seem quite genuine with what they say they offer. However, anyone who has recieved the pack will know that they dont just offer you a course to buy (eg. MCSE), they send someone round to talk to you about your 'needs'.

I havent actually phoned them to arrange that yet, as I thought I'd see on here if anyone has had any experience with them, and also if anyone could offer me any advice;
    My eventual aim is to become employed in the Technical side of IT, (eg. Network Suport, Systems Technician or something similar to that), and although I've never worked in IT before, I have plenty of experience in Building and setting up Computer Systems and Networks from scratch.

I am currently self studying from the Mike Meyers books for my A+, and hopefully on passing this would like to get my Network+ and my MCSE.

Would anyone be able to advise on whether the Network+ and MCSE qualifications are things you can obtain through self study alone, or would it be best to go with a 'training provider'

I have heard a lot of horror stories about these companies ripping people off, :twisted: and am quite confused about the best route to take. :blink

oh yeah, SORRY for the length of this post, hope it doesnt drone on too much :biggrin :oops: :biggrin !!!

Thanks in advance. Lank.

2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Hi Lank1984,
    Whilst I cannot offer you any information on Computeach what I can say is that it is wholly possible to gain the certs you are after through self study.