CompTIA A+ Lab Requirements

Discussion in 'A+' started by Londino, Feb 18, 2008.

1. Londino

Londino Bit Poster

Hello to the ever so helpful community.

After reading zimbo's 'guide to self study' post i felt motivated and decided that it was about time i started studying for the A+ cert.

I noticed that apart from the textbooks i would also need a 'spare' pc to practice upon. I already have spare parts which, if put together, make up for a decent pc capable of running win xp so all i was missing were the books.

However, when i went to amazon.co.uk to purchase Mike Myer's All in One book i watched the video clip where he was demonstrating SCSI drives. Now, pardon me if I'm wrong, but i believe that SCSI drives are not your average Joe's piece of hardware. This 'discovery' prompted me to go through the index where i saw that the curriculum covers printers as well. Now, even though printers ARE a common piece of peripheral i don't think that they are a requirement in order to run xp.

My question is this: will i actually need to purchase scsi drives, controllers & printers in order to self-study for the A+ and successfully pass the exam? If yes, is there anything else i need to own for my 'A+ pc lab' that is not considered a 'minimum win xp requirement' ? I hope my question makes sense :rolleyes:

I'd appreciate if someone would clarify this for me as it's something that's been bugging me for quite some time now.

Cheers.

Certifications: None
    WIP: A+
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome :)

NO you don't need scsi drives, just know what they are and how they work.

I got a PC for my A+ it running the bare minimum specs for windows xp.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome to CF!