Command lines.

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by Big_nath, Sep 19, 2008.

1. Big_nath

Big_nath Kilobyte Poster

I'm currently studying for the 290 exam. I am having trouble remembering all the different command lines. Does anyone have any tips or addition resource to help me?

Thanks

Certifications: MCP, MCSA, MCSA:M, MCSE, MCTS
    WIP: A few
  2. Qs

Qs Semi-Honorary Member Gold Member

Having not done the 290 myself (I'm studying for the 271 as I type this I have the book open and notes in front of me :p) I don't know specifically what you need assistance with.

I'm assuming command line actions such as:-

ren, xcopy etc?

Certifications: MCT, MCSE: Private Cloud, MCSA (2008), MCITP: EA, MCITP: SA, MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003, MCITP: EDA7, MCITP: EDST7, MCITP: EST Vista, MCTS: Exh 2010, MCTS:ServerVirt, MCTS: SCCM07 & SCCM2012, MCTS: SCOM07, MCTS: Win7Conf, MCTS: VistaConf, MCDST, MCP, MBCS, HND: Applied IT, ITIL v3: Foundation, CCA
  3. Big_nath

Big_nath Kilobyte Poster

commands like dsadd, dsget, dsmod etc. trying to remember them all and what they do, plus any switches. I find it tough to remember them all.:eek:

4. craigie

craigie Terabyte Poster

My advice would be to use them a few times.

So create an OU, then add some users to it, then move them to a different OU etc. This will reinforce your learning.

Certifications: CCA | CCENT | CCNA | CCNA:S | HP APC | HP ASE | ITILv3 | MCP | MCDST | MCITP: EA | MCTS:Vista | MCTS:Exch '07 | MCSA 2003 | MCSA:M 2003 | MCSA 2008 | MCSE | VCP5-DT | VCP4-DCV | VCP5-DCV | VCAP5-DCA | VCAP5-DCD | VMTSP | VTSP 4 | VTSP 5
  5. Big_nath

Big_nath Kilobyte Poster

Cool thanks, i tried a coupleof time but i'll keep trying it will sink in eventually i guess.

6. Qs

For me the switches generally stick *shrugs*. Just use the commands a lot and as craigie says, you'll get em :)

Qs