City of London IT?

Discussion in 'IT Contracting' started by MasterDelgado, Jan 12, 2019.

1. MasterDelgado

MasterDelgado Nibble Poster

I'm originally from the UK but live in Toronto, Canada (been out here 10 years) and I'm 18 months into my IT career (job title is "SysAdmin" but I'm just a glorified IT tech in Canada). Used to work in financial media in London (equities, investment funds and hedge funds).

Would someone with a prior financial background (knowledge gained on the job, no certs such as IMC, CFA etc.) and current IT skill set (helpdesk with an interest in Cisco CCNA and cybersecurity) be of interest to recruiters for City of London IT positions?

Certifications: Sec+ | Fortinet NSE 1 & 2
    WIP: CCNA
  2. nisseki

nisseki Byte Poster

Just out of curiosity, how did you move to Canada?

3. MasterDelgado

MasterDelgado Nibble Poster

Removed my original reply...I'm here to find out about contract IT in the City of London, not share my life story...

Last edited: Jan 12, 2019
    Certifications: Sec+ | Fortinet NSE 1 & 2
    WIP: CCNA
  4. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

TBH, I believe that just checking out the news would tell you alot... With the uncertainty on the job markets (job losses) at the moment due to Brexit and the related profit warnings from companies - it may not be a great time...

I don't have prior financial background - but there have been alot of finance institutes and banks moving over to the continent... However someone who works in that sector will answer from their prospective soon :)

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  5. FlashDangerpants

FlashDangerpants Byte Poster