Chucked into the deep end

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by oztrailrider, Oct 18, 2007.

1. oztrailrider

oztrailrider Nibble Poster

Hi all,

I have been working in the automotive industry for almost six years now and I have been studying to get my MCP certification for a short time now. I made the decision recently that I have had enough of my current job and want to pursue a career in IT which has been one of my main interests in life since I got hold of my trusty 286 at age eleven. I have had a decent amount of experience with a lot of different hardware and software from DOS 5.0 right through to Vista. and a fair amount of Linux experience (Debian, Redhat, Ubuntu etc.). I have built quite a number of PCs also. I currently am the admin of our systems at work which comprise of a 2003 SBS server and Win 2k Pro/XP Pro clients which means about eight systems in total. Although there has not been much in the way of administration required since the systems have been pretty solid since installation. Fairly basic all told.

The situation I face at the moment now is that my current place of employment is being bought by a large conglomerate who are buying multiple shops nationwide. Nineteen to begin with (they plan on having a lot more in the future). I have recently had a meeting with them and have accepted a job offer to be their system administrator/IT manager for all sites. They feel my experience in the trade is incredibly valuable compared to hiring an outside IT expert who has no understanding of how the trade works and the people in it.