Cheap server to run ESXi

Discussion in 'VMware Certifications' started by Beerbaron, Jun 22, 2012.

1. Beerbaron

Beerbaron Megabyte Poster

I'm looking to get another cheap server to go with my existing Dell 2950. I'm currently studying for the VCP so trying get more hands on at home.

Currently looking at the HP ProLiant ML110 G7 E3-1220 Tower Server. These look good for the price, with cash back as well. What would you guys recommend?

HP ProLiant ML110 G7 E3-1220 Tower Server | Ebuyer.com

Thanks.

Certifications: BSc (Hons), MSc, ITIL v3F, MCP, MCDST, MCITP: edst7, MCTS, MCSA: Server 2003, MCSA: Windows 7, N+, NVQ IT lvl 3, MCSA Windows 7, VCP5, CCENT, CEH
    WIP: CISSP
  2. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

It really depends on how many VM's you're wanting to run on each box, as a cost saving exercise I would probably have a look at the HP Microserver instead, it's capable of running with 8gb of ram, has an internal USB slot to install ESXi to and also has 4 SATA drives (actually 5 if you include the additional CD\DVD port). Yes it's not going to be as good as the server you're looking at but you can buy 2 of them for that price and having a larger cluster to play with is always fun :)

Failing that have a look on ebay for an additional 2950 (that way you're not going to have issues with vmotion hardware incompatability.

Certifications: CNA | CNE | CCNA | MCP | MCP+I | MCSE NT4 | MCSA 2003 | Security+ | MCSA:S 2003 | MCSE:S 2003 | MCTS:SCCM 2007 | MCTS:Win 7 | MCITP:EDA7 | MCITP:SA | MCITP:EA | MCTS:Hyper-V | VCP 4 | ITIL v3 Foundation | VCP 5 DCV | VCP 5 Cloud | VCP6 NV | VCP6 DCV | VCAP 5.5 DCA
  3. Beerbaron

I did look at the micro servers but thought they lacked power.

HP ProLiant Turion II N40L MicroServer - £110.. | Ebuyer.com

I also looked into getting another Dell 2950 but they still sell for quite a bit. I was lucky I acquired my first one from work. They only have 2850's left and they don't support virtualization.