Changing Direction a Little

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by JammyBStard, May 28, 2008.

1. JammyBStard

JammyBStard New Member

Hi All
    I'm a CCTV commissioning engineer in the UK, I don't mean the sort of CCTV you see in corner shops, I’m more in to the large scale big-brother-is-watching-you video networks and city centre type stuff that Red Ken was so keen on.
    [​IMG]
    The industry's changed pretty rapidly recently and the switch from analogue transmission and recording to IP based equipment has come in (prematurely in many people’s opinion) and I'm finding a lot of my colleagues are getting left behind, thankfully I've had an interest in computers outside of work for some time and I find myself doing the bulk of IP stuff in my department. So I'm looking to put myself in a very safe position by getting a Microsoft qualification on my CV quickly.

The Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer (MCSE) on Windows Server 2003 cert looks like the one to go for.
    I'm trying to decide between approaching my current employer for funding, but I don’t want to end up tied to them contractly. Or going down the self-study route as I've been given a set of TestOut software by a freind who's given up!

I'm going to start with the testOut software soon and see how it go's. I’ll also email my boss to test the water

I've nothing really to ask at this point, I just wanted to say hi, but if anyone would like to comment on my approach I'd like to hear it

Cheers

Certifications: HND Computer and Communication Eng
    WIP: 70-270
  2. Notes_Bloke

Notes_Bloke Terabyte Poster

Hi & welcome to CF:D

NB

Certifications: 70-210, 70-215, A+,N+, Security+
    WIP: MCSA
  3. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

To tell the truth I don't know how much a network that you administer made up of cameras has in common with a network made up of human users, and that is the kind of network an MCSE is geared towards.