change of career

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by danielbh, Feb 28, 2006.

1. danielbh

danielbh Bit Poster

Hi everybody
    I'm a professional musician wanting to break into the IT industry. I've had enough of the cut-throat music scene and now would really love to get an entry-level job in IT! I have applied for quite a few jobs, helpdesk mainly and posted my CV on numerous job sites. I've not had any positive response as of yet-not even a rejection email-then at least I'd know they had received it.

How do I stand a chance of standing out from the crowd for entry-level jobs?! I'm working towards A+ by the way. Any advice on how to approach potential employers-covering letters etc?

2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hm - and IT isn't cut-throat? :biggrin

I think it is good that you are prepared to work at it - too many I''ve seen just coast. But it isn't easy, so you may find that it is just as difficult!

Perhaps your best bet is getting some low-level experience under your belt. Talk to local PC independant dealers and see if they are prepared to take you on. You may find yourself mostly making the tea to start with!

Having a clean driving license may help there as well!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

This is par for the course Daniel, you will find even experienced certified people saying similar things. The trick is to keep on doing what you are doing, persistence is vital. You must never give up and don't expect to be contacted just because you have applied. The truth is that recruitment is a very time consuming activity and the people involved don't always have the time to reply to every applicant.

What instrument/s do you play btw?

I was semi-pro bassist guitarist for over 20 years, I know that making money in the music industry is not easy either :(

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  4. danielbh