Certs + NO exp = jobs???

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by new2it, Oct 6, 2011.

1. new2it

new2it New Member

hi all. I am new to the IT world. Looking for a career change, someone pointed me in the direction of cisco certifications. (That person is a CCIE) so i started studying for the ICND1 exam. I found this forum and have read through a lot of posts and what i have read worries me. I have read that there are people that got the CCNA but had no exp and had a tough time getting a job since the CCNA is considered a advanced cert. I thought the CCNA was considered a beginner certification. So now i have started studying for the comptia network+ exam and then i will take the ICND1 exam since i still desire to go the cisco route. My concern is will i be able to get an entry level job with both the ICND1 and network+ certifications so that i can get in the door and then work on getting the CCNA and later the CCNP?

I do not want to spend time and money in doing a cert and then not end up getting a job.
    any advice, help will be greatly appreciated.

thank you

2. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

I'd only say that certs are not some kind of golden ticket into employment - but certs + no experience > no certs + no experience.

Basically...

Certifications: MCT, MCTS, i-Net+, CIW CI, Prince2, MSP, MCSD
  3. soundian

soundian Gigabyte Poster

I'd modify that slightly:
    Entry-level certs+ no experience>no certs+ no experience

Certifications: A+, N+,MCDST,MCTS(680), MCP(270, 271, 272), ITILv3F, CCENT
    WIP: Knuckling down at my new job
  4. Wireless_Snake

Wireless_Snake Nibble Poster

If you do the certifications it does help to get into a job it shows potential employers that you are willing to move forward and that you are interested in bettering yourself. If you dont have any certs then how would you stand out in the crowd?

Certifications: BSc (Hons) Computer Network Tech, CCNA, CCAI
    WIP: CCNP, VCP 5, SCP
  5. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster