Certification Route.. or Academic IT Degree? (MSc)

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Dusk1983, Jan 7, 2009.

1. Dusk1983

Dusk1983 New Member

Hi all, Im new here. Nice to "meet" you all.

My situation is that Im another career changer without direct IT work experience, but a good science batchelors degree. I have always been involved in intensively using, customising, troubleshooting and occasionally building Microsoft PCs, although as I say I have sadly never worked in that capacity (yet!)

Im studying for my A+ as an initial startpoint, based on the advice here.

After much research, I then think I have two routes. I can either use my degree to convert into Computing as a general academic subject (for example, there is a 2 year university masters course called Computer Systems and Networking) or I can line up desktop support work experience, complete the A+, before hopefully getting my first full IT support role (before ultimately progressing onto more advanced network support and MCSE/A, or diversifying into something else.)

Is there any value in academic qualifications like this, or is it "all" about experience+professional certification?

I hope this above makes sense. There seems to be many very knoledgable fok around here. All comments are gratefully received.

Many thanks in advance,

Andrew
    London

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome:)

Experience matters the most the most unfortunately.

If I were you I would convert your degree and do the A+ whilst looking for your first IT role.

But untill you have the required experience do not over certify yourself by doing the MCSE/A.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. dwhyte85

dwhyte85 Nibble Poster

Hello Andrew,