CCNP - How much difference does it make with limited CISCO experience?

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by MJMcMahon, Jul 23, 2014.

1. MJMcMahon

MJMcMahon New Member

Hi all -

apologies in advance as I'm somewhat frustrated at this point. Just looking for some advice from those who've trod this path before.

A little history: I've been an IT professional for over 20 years now, passing my first cert on Novell 3.12 back in the day. Unfortunately, I remained loyal to Novell a lot longer than was wise from a career perspective and now I'm paying the price for it. In an effort to return to relevance, I passed my Cisco CCNA a little less than two years ago and, while I'm working, it's doing desktop support not networking. Unfortunately, it doesn't appear that my current employer is interested in allowing me to leverage my Cisco experience. I've been looking for network opportunities, but the last two jobs I interviewed for turned me down due to lack of Cisco experience. One wanted to pay quite a bit less than I'm currently making, and the most recent position eliminated me due to lack of experience. I have another interview tomorrow but I don't know yet how much real Cisco experience it will add to my resume' (they are looking for CCNA) or how much they'll be willing to pay.

This leads me to my question: will pursuing CCNP make a significant difference? I'm certainly no paper tiger, but recognize I need more field experience to really get my chops. At the same time, I can't really afford to have my pay cut by 20% to get that experience either. Will the CCNP cert (along with some experimentation on my home network) be enough to make the difference?

Thanks in advance for any advice,

Mike

Certifications: Cisco CCNA
  2. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster