Ccna

Discussion in 'Routing & Switching' started by spy22, Feb 3, 2011.

1. spy22

spy22 Byte Poster

Hey Guys,

I am currently half way through a 12 month secondment in a Network team and previous to that I worked for 6 months in a Desktop support role. Obviously I have asked my colleagues these questions but want lots more opinions if possible guys!?

Hopefully this secondment will end up as a full time position but in the meantime do I go for CCNA at my local university? Its a 32 week course 2 nights a week or what alternative routes/courses would you suggest!

Before you ask, I am by no means an expert but im working with cisco routers (configs/maintenance/upgrades) daily, I work with the server team occaisionally, I work with about 7 of our remote sites/permission/ISA/SSH client bla bla bla but if this secondment was to end in 6 months what quals would stand me in the best position to get a job your opinions!?

Thanks in advance guys!

Regards

Certifications: Its who you know not what you know!!!
    WIP: CCNA?
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

If you work with Cisco routers in your job, why wouldn't you pursue the CCNA? :)

That said, you don't HAVE to take a course. Many people knock it out with self study... just get a couple books, perhaps a lab guide, a simulator if you can't use production gear or if you don't have routers of your own, some legit practice exams... and you've got everything you need!

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. spy22

spy22 Byte Poster

Good point! haha. I suppose that is the route I want but after having a quick scan on here ive seen N+ etc thrown around and I dont want to put al my efforts into CCNA and come up against the 'not enough experience' senario.