CCNA/CCNP Kit

Discussion in 'Routing & Switching' started by Jellyman_4eva, Feb 21, 2006.

1. Jellyman_4eva

Jellyman_4eva Byte Poster

Hi everyone,

I am currently studying for CCNA, I am doing 1 week every 1 month intensive for each semester and have just completed semester 3 with semester 4 starting at the end of next month. Due to this, I am worrying about forgetting the techniques and skills I have learnt, and have therefore decided to invest in some kit to train with via ebay..

I am looking for help as to what to buy to be able to study for the CCNA (I am thinking 2 switches and 3 routers?)

I then intend after perhaps a year or so of completion of my CCNA, to study for CCNP, so I would be looking to then add to my kit to be able to study that also....

Could someone please suggest to me the relevant hardware for CCNA, then CCNP...

I have looked on ebay for what I am using in my course, but it is very confusing, especially with all the different IOS versions etc etc.. do I need v 11 or v12? also what about Enterprise edition... its all very confusing! please help!

I am thinking of:

1 2621
    2 2620

and 1 2900/2950 switch?

Also do I need a serial module in there? W1C or whatever they are called?!

Do I need more/less?!

Bit confused on this one...

Certifications: MCDST, MCITP-EDST/EDA/EA/SA/ MCSA 2K3/2K8, MCSE+M 2K3/2K8, ISA/TMG, VCP3/4, CCNA, Exchange, SQL, Citrix, A+, N+, L+, Sec+, Ser+, JNCIA-SSL, JNCIS-SSL
    WIP: Lots
  2. The_Geek

The_Geek Megabyte Poster

I've heard some good things about www.ciscokits.com, although I do not know if they ship to the UK or not.

Certifications: CompTIA and Micro$oft
    WIP: PDI+
  3. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

They ship to cyprus but at a price so im sure they ship to the Uk! :blink

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  4. Jonathan

Jonathan Nibble Poster

For CCNA the kit you mentioned is to high spec.