Career Advice please!

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by darrenwis, Feb 20, 2009.

1. darrenwis

darrenwis Bit Poster

Hi,

I hope everyone is well and don't mind me posting this.

I graduated from university in 2007 with a degree in BSc Business Information Systems. However, a few years on I find myself in a Customer Care job on 14.5k.

I am considering doing a MSc Strategic Information Systems with Information Assurance in September but in the mean time I was thinking of studying either:

(MCDST) Microsoft Certified Desktop Support Technician

(http://www.icslearn.co.uk/it-technic...utm_term=mcdst)

or

(ITIL) IT Infrastructure Library

(http://www.itgovernance.co.uk/products/1342)

I'm looking to find out which would be more beneficial and eye catching to prospective employers?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Darren

Certifications: BSc (hons)
    WIP: A+
  2. dalsoth

dalsoth Kilobyte Poster

Really depends on what you want to do doesn't it? The MCDST is designed for entry level roles such as helpdesk, 1st line support etc. ITIL v3 to me is a framework for the whole IT service lifecycle from design to continual service improvement within organisations both large and small.

Understanding ITIL and how it really touches upon every aspect in IT is good to know. Not sure whether that would get you in the door though on it's own. Perhaps others here can determine opportunities for you based on the degree you have but to be honest i have no experience myself of how that degree will help you get specific jobs.

Having an MCDST however is a certification that is more hands on. It provides knowledge of troubleshooting actual problems in a entry level IT role.