Career advice needed

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by sweetpea80, Aug 30, 2009.

1. sweetpea80

sweetpea80 New Member

Hi guys

Found this forum today. I am an IT support in my Company.
    I do Desktop support (XP, Vista), Office Internet support, Telephony support, a bit of Linux server administration. IT My skills are self taught and I am interested in scripting ( I can do a bit of bash scripting) and am looking into VBscript.

I am currently looking at MCSE (Windows Server MCITP) and CCNA.

I noticed there are some jobs listing stated that they want people with 2-3 years of with hands-on experience in the above certifications. If I am handling Desktop support with no access to Cisco routers or Windows Server 2003/2008, how do I let the employers that I have the technical knowledge (like I went for courses to gain technical experiences and got a cert for it) when it comes to applying for these openings?

Just curious :biggrin , this question has been bugging me for a while :blink

Thanks for reading! :biggrin

2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi, why not introduce yourself here and be a part of this community :)

The thing is that the higher level professional certifications are there to reflect your job role and responsibilities and not there as a sub to experience.

Being straight forward, no IT manager (and that includes myself) will let someone loose on there systems/network infrastucture just because they have a cert. Theory knowledge and real practical knowledge/experience are two different things.

You state that you do desktop support and a bit of Linux administration, if that's the case then I would recommend doing the MCDST and start your MCSA, as well as looking into doing the A+, Network+ and the Limux+ from Comptia. They will reflect your job role and give you the basis needed to advance both in certs and in career.

-ken

Last edited: Aug 30, 2009