Career Advice - Developing those Business Skills

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by mattwest, Aug 8, 2006.

1. mattwest

mattwest Megabyte Poster

Hey people.

I'm just after a bit of direction really. I'm 25 and been in IT full time for 7 years. I'm currently a 3rd Line Technician for a large District Council.

I enjoy the IT Techie's role but i'm looking forward in my career to a point where i might be either a Senior Engineer with a team beneath me or an IT Manager managing Techie's and projects. I've also considered project management as i'm quite organised and good at that kind of work.

Here is a quick run down of the qualifications i have at the moment:

A+, N+, Server+, Linux+, IT Project+, CCNA, MCSE 2003, CCA and CIW.

Also by next April i'll have these under my belt:

ITIL Foundation, Security+, CCDA and CWNA

Now those 4 may sound alot but i'm going on the courses later in the year and two of which have the exams at the end, so its not quite so bad.

I've also just completed a Level 2 Certificate in Team Leading last year at college as well as loads of internal courses such as assertivness, team working, conflict management etc etc.

I'm trying to decide what soft skills course i should do in the mean time, do i go back to college? Do i go with a distance learning provider or do i do nothing? Here are the options:

- Level 5 Dilpoma in Management (once a week at college for a year)

- Level 5 Dilpoma in Project Management (same as above)

- ASET Certificate in Business Finance (Home Study, at my own pace)

- Nothing!

I'm not sure if i fancy college for another year on top of the job and certs, but i wondered what people thought? I want IT management or project management skills but i'm also thinking for now some business finance knowledge would help plug a gap.

Any thoughts people? Any other options??

Thanks in advance!

Matt :D

Certifications: See my signature...
    WIP: Maybe re-certify my CCNA
  2. simongrahamuk