Can someone help with this idea

Discussion in 'Windows 7 / 8 /10 Client Exams' started by taipei, Nov 18, 2008.

1. taipei

taipei New Member

Hello Members,

I bought another laptop, and have two laptops.

Laptop A is running Windows XP Pro
    Laptop B is running Windows Vista

I still have had no luck in connecting these two laptops together into
    a mini network, so I can practice sharing files back and forth,
    mapping drives, permissions, etc.

Both Laptops have Wireless connections. Laptop A is connected to the internet through a DSL router. Laptop B is also now able to use the internet as well through this router. But the main problem is I want to connect these two laptops together. Can someone please explain in a STEP BY STEP way, how to do this. I have never done this before, so if you can do this Step by step, I'd appreciate it . I'd like to connect them with their wireless connection, I'd rather no use a cable to connect them. Can you explain how to do this. Thankyou All. Ric

2. Obinna Osobalu

Obinna Osobalu Banned

Will give you a guide on this the best way i can...
    A network bridge is software or hardware that connects two or more networks so that they can communicate. Say you have 2 networks in onethe computers are connected with cables& in the other the computers are connected using wireless technology. The wired pcs can only communicate with other wired computers, and the wirless computers can only communicate with other wireless computers. With a network bridge, all of the computers can communicate with each other. Of course If you use the network brige softwa built into windows, you dont need to buy aditional hardware.

To create a network bridge do this;
    ---- Open network connections
    -----Hold down CTRL and select each network connection that you want to add to the bridge.
    -----Right-click one of the selected network connections, and then click bridge connections.