Books or Training Course?

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by secretcrowds, Feb 25, 2009.

1. secretcrowds

secretcrowds New Member

Hey guys!

I am looking into earning a certification in MCDST, and then upgrading to MCITP - Enterprise Support..

Now I have looked into training courses with places like computeach etc.. but all having hefty proces of upwards of £650.. is abit hard to come by at the moment (especially with an 11 month old to look after too)

so I was wondering wether its 'better' to purchase the Microsoft Self Study books for these courses and learn it myself through the books/cd-roms, and then just go for the test when I feel ready.

Ive been working as an IT Support Technician for about 2 years now, and have a good understand of XP and plenty of software..

So im asking for your guys' help to guide me in the right direction with this.. as to what to do about training or books.. and which books to purchase if that's the better option.

And also if you have had experience of passing the exams and getting your certification by use of either training or books.. i'd love to hear about the pro's and con's of each :)

thanks in advance.

WIP: MCDST, MCITP
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

you'll need books wether you do a course or not. Like I said on your other thread most people on here self study as it is cheaper than doing a course.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. del_port

del_port Byte Poster

Just buy the books,i've commented in great detail in recent posts
    http://www.certforums.co.uk/forums/thread31209.html
    why i think only the books are needed,It's a waste of money going any other possible route in my view.

Especially for someone with the lengthy experience that you already have.

Certifications: A+ and MCDST 70-271
    WIP: mcdst 272
  4. StormTHX

StormTHX Byte Poster