Bit of advice req'd

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by dotti, Mar 16, 2008.

1. dotti

dotti New Member

Hi, am looking for a career change and have decided on 'network engineer'.......I have basic knowledge so presume from what I have read already the A+ is where i need to start then network+.......i have googled numerous sites for home study as have a job and 2 tiddly winks so hectic......any recommendations of any self study sites would be greatly appreciated....i have had some stuff sent to me already from the home learing college but it seems bit dodgy due to a 'credit agreement'. I have sent my details to computeach but after what i have read on here i will avoid them like the plague....sorry for waffling on.......:biggrin

2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

First - welcome to CF!

Second - yes - A+ and Network+ will be good starter certs.

There are some excelent books available for A+ - just look in the forum here for lots of advice.

And don't forget to ask lots of questions!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Aspiring to be a network engineer is great! However... and I don't mean to dash your aspirations... but one doesn't just jump into being a network engineer, even after training, because network engineer jobs typically require years of IT experience. To become a network engineer, one typically gets an entry-level IT job, such as help desk tech, level 1 tech, PC repair tech, or field service tech. Then, they typically move up to desktop support, systems/server administration, and THEN network administration.