Best place to find a job in IT

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by immoral giant, Aug 28, 2007.

1. immoral giant

immoral giant Nibble Poster

I have been working in IT for the last 2 years but am fed up of being treated badly working for the Government.

I have looked on Reed and CWJobs. I was just wondering if anyone else knew good places to look for jobs. There never appears to be anything in the local papers.

Certifications: A+, N+
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Monster.co.uk and jobserve.co.uk are supposed to be good sites

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Best place to find jobs is from other techs in the industry. They will often know when job opportunities are coming available, but are not yet listed anywhere.

Looking in the paper and on online job search sites are great... but EVERYONE looks there, so your competition for those jobs is likely to be fierce.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  4. immoral giant

Thanks for those. I haven't looked at jobserve before.

I don't anyone else in the industry personally. I know the guys that I work with but I shouldn't really be talking to them about new job oppurtunities.

5. Spilly

Spilly Kilobyte Poster

What country are you working in?:tongue

Certifications: A+,N+,S+,MCP,MCDST,MCITP,MCTS,MCSA,CISMP,PCI-P,SSCP
    WIP: CCSK
  6. BosonMichael

Then get out there and meet them. :) There are often IT professional associations that have regular meetings where you can meet others in the industry.

For the record... you're meeting some of them this very minute. ;)