Be gentle...

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by judoblo, Aug 5, 2010.

1. judoblo

judoblo New Member

Hi guys/gals.

I stumbled across this site while looking for some reviews of some IT training providers. I'm hoping you kind folk will be able to point me in the right direction.

A little about me - I'm 25 and am currently employed as an "IT Manager" providing support for upwards of seven offices (around 45 users). The majority of users are using either Windows Vista/7, but we are looking to move towards a Windows Server (2008?) set-up in the future. I also maintain/develop a bespoke program written in Visual Fox Pro. I've not had any IT training apart from and IT AS-level course in school (which I had to drop) and so all my skills are self-taught. I consider myself to be pretty good at picking things up and also quick to learn.

I'm feeling the need to gain some qualifications and to learn some new skills. Fortunately, my employer is willing to support (financially) my development and has asked me to go looking...

Now, I've found a number of "Home Learning" providers that are willing to "guarantee" me a "fantastic" salary and "excellent" job opportunities, for anywhere between £1500 and £7000. I'm wondering if there would be a cheaper way of doing some courses/getting some training - so 1. I can convince my employers to part with their £££ and 2. I can do multiple courses/exams.

I have been looking at the CompTIA selection and also some Microsoft ones (MCDST, MCSA, MCSE) but to be honest, I'm drowning in a sea of acronyms!!

I'd appreciate any advice you can give.

Thanks

judoblo

2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster