BCS Membership

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by simongrahamuk, May 6, 2006.

1. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Last night I decided to join the BCS, being a Part Time Student I'm eligable for Student Membership. As it was only £20 Ithought I'd see what it was all about, plus next time I fill out an applictaion form that asks "are you a member of any professional body?" I can say "Yes!"

How many others here are BCS members, what level of membership do you have, and what (if any) are the advantages of membership, or even say going from Associate Member to Member?

:blink

2. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

not sure what it means simon.. but what i did find is that any IT related degree more or less makes you a member! :blink maybe its just one those 'perks' in being in IT? :biggrin We have something formal to call ourselves!

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  3. mattwest

mattwest Megabyte Poster

I'm a full member of the BCS so i guess i'm allowed to put "MBCS" somewhere on my CV?? But i dont include it! :)

I joined the BCS about 18 months ago when i was looking for something to put on my CV to show commitment to IT. As i've got over 5 years experience i qualified as a full member. I think its £80 per year....

I know include it on my CV to show that i'm committed to a career in IT (yada yada!). I'm also a member of the Chartered Management Institutue as i'm on a management course so it can only help.

I get a free newsletter thing every quarter and you get discounts on books and gets informed of local branch meetings etc but to be honest i've never really made use of any of it!

To be frank i'm only a member so i can show it on my CV, anything to stand yourself apart! :twisted:

Certifications: See my signature...
    WIP: Maybe re-certify my CCNA
  4. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

I'm a member.

Not sure why..