Back after a while...

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Ropenfold, Jan 1, 2020.

1. Ropenfold

Ropenfold Kilobyte Poster

Hi everyone

I'm not technically a newbie but it's probably been nearly a decade since I have been on here. A little about me.

Previously I was on tech support certification route, achieving my A+, N+ and a mixture of Microsoft certs. I couldn't get a job in tech so I took a job in my old business which was a mistake really, setting me up for years in a dead end job.

So last year, after a few years of hobby coding, I enrolled on a free coding bootcamp for 4 months full time and finally got my dream job in tech ion July. It's been great and I 'm here to tell you that if you work hard and chase your dreams you can achieve it!

Short term I'm happy with my job but I want to start looking at cyber security as a career path so I'm looking at getting some certs in those fields, my question is it worth doing my A+ and N+ again before doing the security+ cert?

Wishing you all happy and prosperous new year :emoji_slight_smile:

Certifications: BSC (Hons), A+, MCDST, N+, 70-270, 98-364, CLF-C01
    WIP: ISC2 CC, Security+
    JK2447 likes this.
  2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Nope

3. Juelz

Juelz Gigabyte Poster

Welcome back! congrats on landing the dream job! I would say getting A+ would not be worth your time, however N+ and then Sec+ would be a worthwhile investment IMO, security and networking go hand in hand.

Ropenfold and JK2447 like this.
  4. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member